FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

 

  1. CAN I TAKE THE HANDGUN PROFICIENCY COURSE PRIOR TO APPLYING ONLINE WITH THE DPS AND/OR BEING FINGERPRINTED?
    • YES…  You may attend the handgun proficiency course prior to registering with the Texas Department of Public Safety for your License To Carry and/or being fingerprinted through IdentoGO.  We do recommend that you complete these steps prior to attending a handgun proficiency course though, because at the end of the class when we are explaining what all you need to send back in to the DPS, the explanation will make more sense.  Even though you may take the handgun proficiency course prior to registration with the DPS, or register with the DPS prior to attending a handgun proficiency course, you MUST be registered with the Texas Department of Public Safety PRIOR to attempting to schedule your fingerprinting.  Fingerprints are electronically submitted to the Texas DPS and must have a valid application on file to associate the fingerprints with.
  2. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO RECEIVE MY LICENSE TO CARRY ONCE I HAVE TURNED IN ALL MY PAPER WORK?
    • The length of time it takes to receive your license in the mail once you have completed all the steps to licensing and turned in all required paperwork will depend greatly on the overall load on the Texas Department of Public Safety.  The last few years, the number of Texans receiving their handgun license has been increasing on average by the rate of approximately 100k individuals per year.  This large amount of applicants has definitely lengthened the typical time it takes to get your license in the mail, but on average it takes anywhere from 4 to 10 weeks for you to receive your license in the mail.
  3. CAN I GET A TEXAS LICENSE TO CARRY EVEN THOUGH I DO NOT LIVE IN TEXAS?
    • YES…  The only additional requirements for out of state licensees are the following:
      1. You must include two (2) passport photos with your application and a photo ID form (CHL-6).
      2. A front and back color copy of your resident state’s drivers license.
      3. You must attend a Texas certified handgun proficiency course in the state of Texas.  Handgun proficiency courses taken in other states will not be accepted.
  4.  WHAT ARE THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS TO RECEIVE A TEXAS LICENSE TO CARRY?
    • The eligibility requirements for a Texas License To Carry are as follows:
      1. You can NEVER have been convicted of a Felony involving another person.
      2. You must be legally eligible to purchase a firearm under Federal and state laws.
      3. You must be a minimum of 21 years of age (18 years of age if active or honorably discharged from the military)
      4. You can not have been convicted of a Class A or Class B Misdemeanor, Disorderly Conduct or equivalent offense within five (5) years proceeding the date of application.
      5. You can not be currently charged with a Felony, Class A or Class B Misdemeanor or a charge involving Moral Turpitude.
      6. You can not be chemically dependent person.
      7. You can not be a member of a criminal street gang.
      8. You can not be incapable of excising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun and has normal use of your mental and physical faculties.
      9. You can not be the subject of a Protective Order.
      10. You can not be finally determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the Texas Attorney General.
      11. You must be a legal resident of Texas for a minimum of six (6) immediately proceeding the date of application.
      12. You can not be a fugitive from justice for a Felony, Class A or Class B Misdemeanor or equivalent offense.
  5. HOW LONG WILL MY LICENSE TO CARRY BE GOOD FOR?
    • A newly issued license will expire on your birthdate immediately following the four (4) year anniversary of the issuance of your License To Carry.  Upon renewal and from then on, your License To Carry will be valid for a period of five (5) years and will expire on your birthdate.
  6. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO COMPLETE THE HANDGUN PROFICIENCY COURSE?
    • A Texas certified handgun proficiency course MUST be a minimum of four (4) hours and no longer than six (6) hours and cover all material required by the Texas Department of Public Safety Handgun Licensing Law.
  7. WHAT DO I NEED TO BRING TO MY HANDGUN PROFICIENCY COURSE?
    • You need to bring a minimum of fifty (50) rounds of store bought ammunition.  SeTxLicenseToCarry.com does not allow the use of reloads for qualification purposes.
    • A valid state issued ID for your state of residence.
    • Eye protection.  This may be shooting glasses, safety glasses, eye glasses, etc.  If you are unable to supply eye protection, loaner eye protection can be provided at the class.
    • Hearing protection.  This may be in the form of ear plugs, ear muffs or electronic ear muffs.  If you are unable to supply hearing protection, ear plugs can be provided at the class.
  8. IF I DO NOT OWN A HANDGUN, DO YOU OFFER HANDGUN RENTALS?
    • YES…  If you do not currently own a handgun to use during your handgun proficiency course, a rental handgun may be obtained from Southeast Texas License To Carry for the purpose of completing the proficiency course.  It is recommended that an individual attending the handgun proficiency course should own a firearm and be familiar with it’s safe operation.  But in the event a student does NOT own a handgun, one may be rented from Southeast Texas LTC at a cost of $25.00 plus cost of ammunition.  Ammunition cost will be charged at current market value at the time of rental for the caliber selected.  Available calibers for rent are 9mm, 380 cal., and 22LR.  Rental handguns MUST be reserved in advance by calling our office.  Please specify caliber preferences when reserving your handgun.
  9. DO I NEED TO ATTEND ANOTHER HANDGUN PROFICIENCY COURSE IN ORDER TO RENEW MY EXISTING LICENSE?
    • NO…  As of September 1, 2013, a person who holds a valid License To Carry (previously called a Concealed Handgun License) is no longer required to attend a handgun proficiency course in order to renew.  All renewals can be completed online at the Texas Department of Public Safety’s website.
  10. I HAVE COMPLETED A HANDGUN PROFICIENCY COURSE AND ONLINE APPLICATION, WHAT IS THE ADDRESS I NEED TO SEND THE REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION TO?
    • A copy of your barcoded “Checklist” and handgun proficiency certificate (LTC-100) should be mailed to the following address:
      • Texas Department of Public Safety
      • Handgun Licensing Program, MSC 0245
      • P.O. Box 4087
      • Austin, Texas 78773-0245
  11. WHERE CAN A GET A COPY OF THE CURRENT LICENSE TO CARRY A HANDGUN LAWS?
    • A copy of the current License To Carry a handgun laws can be downloaded from:  http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-16.pdf
  12. WHAT IS THE WEBSITE ADDRESS FOR THE FINGERPRINTING COMPANY IN ORDER TO SCHEDULE MY FINGERPRINTING APPOINTMENT?
    • The company currently authorized by the Texas Department of Public Safety to handle fingerprinting of License To Carry applicants can be found at:  https://tx.ibtfingerprint.com/
  13. IS THERE A MINIMUM CALIBER HANDGUN THAT MUST BE USED IN THE HANDGUN PROFICIENCY COURSE?
    • NO…  Senate Bill 263 passed the House & Senate and was signed into law by the Governor.  This law went into affect on September 1, 2017 and removes the minimum caliber requirements for a Texas handgun proficiency course.
  14. I AM ON ACTIVE DUTY WITH THE MILITARY, CAN I BE EXEMPT FROM THE SHOOTING PORTION OF THE HANDGUN PROFICIENCY COURSE?
    • NO…  As of the current date of this writing, Active or Retired military personnel are NOT exempt from the shooting portion of a Texas Handgun Proficiency Course.
  15. I WAS RECENTLY FINGERPRINTED, WILL I BE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT FINGERPRINTS AGAIN WITH MY LTC APPLICATION?
    • YES…  Current law requires that EVERY individual applying for their Texas License To Carry, submit an electronic scan of their fingerprints with their application.  Currently there are no exceptions to this requirement regardless of when an applicant last had their fingerprints scanned.

 

Close
loading...